Trying to Find the Words.

I’ve been home from Camp Shutter Sisters for 5 days now and for 5 days I’ve been trying to come up with the words to try to describe to you what camp was about but I’m finding it quite difficult.  I can tell you that at times I felt intimidated and terrified that I was going to be found out or that I’m not as awesome a photographer as the other 70 women were or that I didn’t know as much as they did or that I just wasn’t good enough.  In fact, I can guarantee you many of the attendees probably felt that way.  It was obvious, though, after the first night, that there was no need or no room for those feelings or fears.  Camp, at that point, became so much more than photography.  In fact, for me, photography was secondary to everything else when I was there.  So, I can tell you that camp was magical, emotional, inspiring, powerful, even life changing.  There’s been a shift in my world.  Not quite sure how yet, but it’s different, and I’m glad.

I’m also glad I’m not alone.  Others are trying to describe camp and it’s obvious, I’m not the only one struggling with finding the right words.  Kristin, MeghanXanthe, Wendy, and Amy, to name a few.  Even Tracey Clark who started this whole big dream of  Shutter Sisters  only 3 years ago said, and I quote, “I don’t know what it’s going to be, but it’s going to be awesome“, is having trouble finding the words post-camp.

So, until I can find the right words, I made this video in hopes that maybe, just maybe, those that didn’t attend would get a little taste of what it was we experienced, no words needed.  Enjoy.  

8 Responses to “Trying to Find the Words.”

  1. annie Says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Chris!

  2. xanthe berkeley Says:

    I may never be able to describe the experience in words. But I know I miss you and your positivity x.

  3. Denise Says:

    Isn’t it funny how our time exists more in emotions and connections and images than words….Perhaps this was Tracey’s intent. I miss your comments and laughter! x

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I just posted something that mirrors exactly what you said. I just can’t find the words to describe this experience. Thank you for putting this video together to help me convey to others how special and magical this experience was.

  5. Kristina Says:

    oops….that was me, Kristina…… :)

  6. Lindsay Lofthouse Says:

    Thanks for posting this Chris! It’s perfect. I also just wanted to let you know that I loved your stories during our car ride to San Fran. You have beautiful energy. Happy I got to meet you!

  7. Meghan @ Life Refocused Says:

    Still don’t have the words. Wish we’d had more time to get to know each other more. Next time? xo

  8. rtiptonphoto Says:

    Such an awe inspiring video. Makes me want to do something like that so bad. Thank you for posting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

