Am I wrong?

I have some friends of mine who were getting ‘alerts’ from AOL when I posted on that journal and were wondering if they would get alerts for this one as well. They told me that if they didn’t get an alert they didn’t know if they would remember to check this blog. The only thing I could think of was emailing everyone directly everytime I posted here. Well, that’s a little presumptuous on my part and a lot of work, too. Then it hit me. I can use my AOL journal to alert everyone that I’ve posted here. I did that and it seems to be working. So, is this the wrong thing to do if I’m boycotting AOL? I look at that journal now as the door to this one. I don’t see a problem with it. What do you think?

4 Responses to “Am I wrong?”

  1. Donna Says:

    Somehow you can go to bloglines, set up an account, and they will let you know when all your journals have a new post. Check out this entry by AnnaLisa. http://journals.aol.com/annalisa135/Simpleyetsatisfying/entries/895

  2. Karen Funk Blocher Says:

    I used this trick of yours myself tonight. I haven’t been, mostly, but I figured for the Weekend Assignment it was worth getting an AOL Alert sent out.

    But Donna is right. http://www.bloglines.com is a clipping service for reading blogs. That’s how I got here tonight! I noticed just now that it’s not totally up to date (well, maybe the date, but not the hour and minute!) but it does work!
    Karen
    http://outmavarin.blogspot.com – main blog
    http://mavarin.blogspot.com – fiction blog

  3. Wil Says:

    Is it wrong?

    Who’s to say? Are there official ‘boycott police’? It appears to me you are using YOUR paid account the way YOU want to.

    Do tell your friends to go get Bloglines – they’ll be a lot happier and it’ll be a lot less work for you.

  4. Gail in MN Says:

    I think I’ll use your idea. I love the thought of using the AOL platform to notify friends that I’ve posted on BlogSpot!! WooHoo! My J-land journal can now do double duty—irritating AOHell and their advertisers AND highlighting BlogSpot. I LOVE it!!

Leave a Reply

