A New Week Begins…


Originally posted on Sept. 19th, 2005. Gotta’ love those kids….
*
*
While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about-Angela Schwindt

Today was a good day in that I made good use of my time. I did 2.5 million loads of laundry, (Okay. Maybe not that many. But it sure felt like it), mopped the floors, made it to the post office like I had planned last week, took the truck to get washed…well, you get the idea. It was nice to actually be home and not a hospital or not another birthday party or not on vacation. Just home on a Sunday, a good start to a new week. Gordon read the Sunday paper, the boys played their video games and I zipped around here getting things done. When I’m on a roll, I’m on a roll. The boys started bickering and I told Owen I would take him with me to the car wash if he would just let me finish up some things first. This way, Austin could have some time away from his little brother, and Owen and I could have some “mommy and me” time for a little bit. Since Owen has no concept of time, he kept asking me every 10 minutes or so if it was time to go yet. After about the 4th time, I became exasperated and told him I would come and get him when it was time to go. He got that pouty look on his face and turned around, walking off dejectedly. I continued what I was doing and after about 30 minutes I finished and went off to look for Owen. He had made a little tent on the couch with a throw that I have and crawled inside. I walked over and pushed back the throw and the picture above is what I found. In fact, had I waited another 10 minutes or so, he probably would have fallen asleep (which would have been fine with me because he was tired enough for a nap). Of course, this was a great photo op, so I couldn’t pass it up. I grabbed my camera and took about 20 pictures in about 5 minutes. He just lay there and let me shoot away. So, this is one of my favorite out of all of them.
Once I had finished, he reached out and grabbed me for a kiss, telling me he loved me. That boy sure knows how to melt my heart, but he still had only one thing on his mind.
“Now can we go to the car wash mommy?”…Yes Owen, we can go to the car wash…and the moon…and the stars……
The week is definitely off to a good start.
5 Responses to “A New Week Begins…”

  1. Gaboatman Says:

    Chis
    Thats a great shot! I remember making tents out of throws and blankets when I was a kid, and I love it when I see my Grandson Trenton doing it now. I’m glad your camera was close by at the time!
    Sam

  2. Judith HeartSong Says:

    what a photograph. Enjoy every second.

  3. Jod{i} Says:

    Wow…so much said and felt and to be remembered, just in that shot! Absolute beauty!

  4. DEREK Says:

    that is a lot of laundry. That was one of my favorite shots on your other blog as well. Hope your having a great week.

  5. Robin Says:

    Wow! I just did 2.5 million loads of laundry the other day too!! 😉

Leave a Reply

