The Unexpected Gift


I’m having mixed emotions right now and I’m not really sure how to feel. Let me explain. Earlier this evening when we all arrived home from running the last of our Christmas errands, at our door we found one of those extra large, plastic Christmas gift bags filled with christmas gifts. Attached to it was a note that said:

“Dear Sneddon Family,
Our elven spies told us that you all may need a little help getting some Christmas cheer this year. Mrs. Claus and I hope that you all have a very blessed Christmas.
Love,
Santa Claus”

My husband and I have no idea who has done this. I immediately felt guilty. Yes, we are having some financial difficulties which are making things extremely tight. Yes, I have cut back on all extras, dinners out, etc. except for the occasional trip to McDonalds. Yes, my kids get hand-me-down clothes, but they’re boys and we know how boys are with their clothes. Who doesn’t sometimes put hand-me-downs on their kids?? Yes, Christmas this year is not as elaborate as past Christmases. The kids are each getting two presents this year instead of 5 or 6 or 7, but they are getting Christmas gifts.

I’m a very private person and don’t really tell anyone our troubles or woes, simply because I know there are a lot more people out there worse off than we are and I know things will eventually get better. I absolutely have not said a word to anyone about anything and have no idea who could have done this. I have a roof over my head and food on my table. I can’t really ask for much more than that. So to come home and find these gifts was a shock. The boys were ecstatic at the sight of these early gifts from Santa. What you see under my tree in the picture are the gifts that were left tonight. I came in the house and sat down, not sure what to feel. Part of me felt guilty, part of me felt a little pang of relief, part of me felt embarassed that someone would think we needed a hand out (though I know that’s not what it is, trust me). Yes, the fact that this Christmas is not going to be like all our others is one of the reasons I have not been feeling very Christmasy this year, as you have seen from previous posts. I have no right to feel that way and I’m certainly not going to whine about it. We’re in a rough spot, but we’re going to make it.

My husband sat down beside me on the couch as I watched the boys dancing around in glee. He was just as shocked at this as I was, but he was touched by it all.

“If you had an extra $100 and could be a Secret Santa to someone, knowing they could do some for their own family, but not as much as they would like, would you?”, he asked.
“In a heartbeat”, I replied.
“How would it make you feel to do that for someone?”, he asked. Duh. That’s a no brainer.
“It would make me feel great to do that for someone”, I stated.
“So knowing that, how do you think the person or persons who did this for us felt?”, he asked. That put it all into a little better perspective for me. I’m sure they were very happy to do it. Austin and I had left a Secret Santa gift for Dennis, the elderly man we had helped last week who had fallen, and his wife Wynonna. Nothing elaborate, but a gift nonetheless. We had left a package at their door late last night when I knew they would be asleep. We were so excited and happy to have done that. Yes, I’m sure those that did this for us tonight must be feeling that way as well. I’m still reeling from it all. I guess I never thought I would be in a position where someone would do this for us and I never wanted anyone to think we would need something like this. I never thought my family would ever be a recipient of anything like this. Ever. I may not have been feeling very Christmasy lately, but instead now feel very humbled by all of this. Christmas has taken on a much deeper meaning for me this year and I will remember this forever…so on that note, I hope you all have a Christmas as blessed as mine.

(Update: see first comment!)

12 Responses to “The Unexpected Gift”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    “Remember, no man is a failure who has friends.”
    -Clarence the Angel, It’s A Wonderful Life

    Christmas is the time of year, not only to think of those less fortunate, but of those you hold most dear.
    We sincerely wish, that if our gift touched your heart, perhaps you can touch someone else next year.

    Love, Santa Claus

  2. Chris Says:

    Consider it done. Thank you Santa.

  3. Candace Says:

    My sister went through a very rough time one year (divorce with an ex who did not understand the concept of child support)and could barely cover the rent. She is a nurse and had just started working for a local clinic. Everyday for a week she would come back to her desk and find gift certificates for food, or Target, little packages, envelopes with cash — all anyonomous.
    She is no longer in financial hard times and always remembers those gifts and is able to repay them by doing the same for others now that she can afford it.
    Accept them in the spirit they were intended, have a Merry Christmas, and when you’re able you will be able to return the favor…
    Merry Christmas. : )
    Candace

  4. jeni Says:

    and who says whining never paid off?!?!?!? lol!! who do i have to complain to, to get free stuff??

    i’m just messing with ya twin! πŸ™‚

    well…whoever did it….i’m sure they just wanted you to remember how cool christmas was, kwim? like i know how sad you’ve been since jerold (HOTTIE! πŸ˜‰ ) died. maybe they knew that you needed a little oomph to get in the holiday mood.

    but whoever did it, i’m glad for you. its nice to see my twin in the holiday mood. and it couldn’t have been given to a nicer family than you guys.

    merry christmas twin! i love you! πŸ™‚

  5. Chris Says:

    Kiss, kiss twin! I love you too!

  6. Tammy Says:

    Ok, can someone say “tissue please”? What the best gift here was the gift of receiving! It’s so very hard to do sometimes. It took four years to accept help with my disabilities after retirement. I still struggle with it. You are a very special, loving family that had your own Christmas miracle this year.

    {{HUGS}} to you all!
    Merry Christmas my friend!

  7. Tammy Says:

    Thank you Santa for being such a blessing to my friend and her family. HoHoHo

  8. Bedazzzled1 Says:

    Stop and think about this, too. Here you did a good deed for a neighbor in dire need AND you left a gift for him and his wife even though you are experiencing tough times financially. Isn’t there a saying about the more we give the more we receive?

    I think your Secret Santa is a lovely person who just happens to be able to know who deserves (yes, deserves!) a little extra kindness sometimes…and appreciates it.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.
    ::hug::

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Oh Chris, I had no idea.

    This entry brought tears to my eyes….or was that the strong taste of my double chocolate martini? LOL

    Have a Merry “Fucking” Christmas woman!

    You know how much I love you…

    You are the best girl, enjoy what the Lord has bestowed upon you,
    Stacy

  10. Chris Says:

    Nobody had any idea because it’s only temporary. It sucks, but workable. lol. Love you too girlfriend.

  11. Laura Says:

    what a beautiful thing!
    God bless you and your own secret santa!
    I am so happy tosee a little miracle come the way of someone deserving.
    Hugs and merry Christmas!

  12. Virginia Says:

    What a magic story!

    Peace, Virginia

Leave a Reply

