Happy New Year to you!

It’s a very wet and rainy day here in good ‘ol SoCal. It’s just the day to reminisce and go through my huge box of pictures. I literally have hundreds of photographs. I found a couple of the boys from when they were so little! If you get a chance, stop by my photo journal and check out a couple I posted. There’s one of Owen at 9 months old sitting in a produce scale at the market! It’s a keeper. Anyhoo….

2005 wasn’t too bad. It had it’s moments, but for the most part, it was okay. I have my family and our health. I think I may have some challenges coming up in 2006. My job is supposed to end in April and my grandmother, God love her, is 87 and I don’t know if she’ll go a whole other year. My mother has severe arthritis and osteoporosis and can barely walk anymore. She lives with my grandmother to take care of her, but she can barely take care of herself. I knew it would come down to my taking care of them, which is fine! I just didn’t think it would be so soon. How funny that no matter how old you are, you still feel like a kid around your parents and grandparents. They always seem so indesctructible until one day, they’re not as young or as healthy they used to be. I’m officially part of the “sandwich” generation: a person who is taking care of parents and their children at the same time. We’re starting to have the same issuse with Gordon’s mom as well. I often lay in bed late at night realizing that soon, both my mom and grandma may both be gone in the next couple of years. When they are gone, all my immediate family will no longer exist. My dad, brother and grandfather are already gone. That just freaks me out. Here I am in my 40’s and still have my grandparent and mom. My grandma has great-grandkids. I don’t know if I’ll ever see my own grandkids, simply because I’m an older parent. My grandmother had 6 grandkids by the time she was 44. I have my own 5 yr. old and 9 yr. old at 44. I’m nowhere close to being a grandparent! Seems so weird sometimes….

Okay, time to change the tone here! I hope everyone has a great New Year. I’m not going to make any unrealistic resolutions. I’ll just continue to treat those as I would want to be treated and do my best to help those in need. Have a great night tonight and do not drink and drive!

4 Responses to “Happy New Year to you!”

  1. Karen Funk Blocher Says:

    Happy New Year! Good luck with your mother and grandmother – and remember to take care of yourself too!

    Karen

  2. DesLily Says:

    Happy New year.. and thanks, we need kids like you!

  3. Stephaine Says:

    A healthy and happy new year to you all.

  4. Jod{i} Says:

    Your last paragraph says it all!

    Happy New Year!

    Jodi

Leave a Reply

