Thirteen Things about Chris

1. I never wanted kids, was never supposed to be able to have kids (I have one ovary. Don’t ask). Yes, I know. I have two kids. First pregnancy was a complete shock after being married for almost 6 yrs and never using BC. Pregnancy two was planned. Having kids turned out to be a good thing after all!

2. Before my current husband, I was previously engaged. Two days before my wedding was to take place, I got a phone call from a woman stating she was his WIFE. It was true. He was still married. It was probably the most devistatingly humilating thing to ever happen to me. I won’t get into it here. That is unless, of course, you ply me with many apple martini’s and then I’ll spill all the gory details.

3. I am great in crisis situations. After working for the Sheriff Department and then the Fire Department for so many years, nothing fazes me. I’ve seen it all. Even when it comes to my own kids. My husband goes into panic mode and I go into nurse/doctor/paramedic/deputy mode. Blood does not bother me unless it’s my own. Someone’s got to do it, right?

4. Financially we’re just getting by but I’m rich in family, friends, life and love. Can’t beat that!

5. My camera is always with me, literally. I take it everywhere. If I haven’t had a chance to do any photography in awhile, I start getting antsy, even having dreams about taking pictures. In fact, I’m there right now. lol.

6. I have a goal to volunteer two weeks in the summer for Global Volunteers.

7. I love to bake. So much so that if I could, I would attend the California Culinary Arts School to become a pastry chef. Maybe one day I will.

8. After 15 years of marriage, my husband still loves me and still wants to be with me. This just amazes me, even after all these years.

9. I absolutely love all movie and television award shows. The Academy Awards, The Golden Globe Awards, The SAG Awards, The Emmy Awards, etc. I will plan my whole day around them. (Okay, I know you’re all laughing at me right now but just keep it to yourself!).

10. I cannot watch a movie or read a book more than once, no matter what. Once seen or read, that’s it.

11. I love being in my 40’s. My 20s were spent doing stupid things. My 30s were spent looking at my 20s and making sure I never did those things again. Being in my 40s is like discovering a secret, especially as a woman. Everything is better (yes, even sex!) If my 40s are this great, I can’t wait to be 50!

12. Not many people know this, but I can sing. My husband and kids love to hear me sing, and I only sing for them. No one else.

13. This is my first Thursday Thirteen!


links to other Thursday Thirteens!

1. Volcanic Sacrifices

2. Leanne, Artist by Nature

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!


Leave a Reply

