It’s Whale Watching Time


On Sunday, if Owen is feeling better, we’re off to this lovely spot known as Abalone Cove. The weather will be clear and crisp. We do this every year during whale watching season which runs from December to April. We pack a lunch, take our lawn chairs, binoculars and cameras and settle in on the bluffs for a nice afternoon. When the kids tire of whale watching, we take the trail down to the beach and visit the tide pools. There’s definitely enough to do to keep the boys happy. It doesn’t matter how many times I’ve seen the whales on their yearly migration; I still am in awe of them. They are only about a 100 yards from the shore, so they’re easy to see. The kids get so excited when they spot one. I haven’t taken them on a whale watching cruise yet because Owen was still too little, but now at the ripe old age of 6, I think he’s ready. We’ll probably do that in March or April when it’s warmer. There are times I hate the fact that we have perpetually sunny, mild weather here and I just wish for some actual winter weather, but for times like this, I’m reminded why our weather is so great. Would I rather be in 10 feet of snow or never-ending rain like they have in the Pacific Northwest, or do I want sunny, warm, balmy weather? Yeah, I know. It’s a no-brainer!

Leave a Reply

