Some Call It Intuition.

Some call it a gift. Whatever it is, I have it and thankfully so. You know what I’m talking about. You know, those “gut” feelings you get about something, or you’ll be thinking of someone, the phone rings and it’s the person you were thinking of? This has happened to everyone at one time or another, some more often than others. Women especially. Well, I’m one of those people that it happens to often. Often enough that after 15 years of marriage my husband knows to listen to me when I get that “gut” feeling. He knows when I tell him that so-and-so has been on my mind for more than two days that I will be hearing from that person and I always do. After this weekend, it only made him believe more.

The past week was a busy and eventful week. Last Tuesday my mom and I went to visit my grandma at the convalescent hospital like we have been doing every night since she’s gotten there. When we arrived, she was upset. She said she had had a dream that her son, my uncle who passed three weeks ago, came to her in a dream and told her he was going to be “bringing her home”. She wasn’t upset because she was afraid of that happening, she was upset because she’s tired and she wants to be with him. She then proceeded to let us know that she was ready to go and she didn’t want us to get upset about this. It was time, she said. I wasn’t upset. I think it was more than a dream and that my uncle really did come to her and tell her this. Of course, I’m never going to be ready for her to go, but I completely understand why she would feel that way. Two days later after we finally brought her home, she had another dream. She said that in her dream my uncle came to her again and said they were waiting for her in “that place“. When she asked him who was waiting for her, he said “me, daddy and Gerald”, daddy being my grandfather who passed in 1995 and my brother who passed in 1999. She then asked him what place were they waiting for her and my uncle said, “the place where we wait to meet you when you get here”.

I believe that these are more than dreams she’s having and that my uncle really did say these things to her. They had also talked about this before he had passed. She had told him that she didn’t want to out live him, that no mother should out live their child. He had said he didn’t think he could handle it if she went first and that he needed her to be there for him at the end but he would be there to meet her when she went.

Yesterday, Saturday, was the private family memorial we had for my uncle. My grandma made it her goal to be out of that convalescent hospital so she could make it to her son’s memorial service and that she did. However, once she told me about those dreams or visits, I got that “feeling”. The closer we got to Saturday, the stronger it got. In fact, I was being “double-whammied” by those feelings. I was also getting very strong feelings that we should not take my SUV to the memorial. We’ve all heard the stories about how they can roll so easily. The closer it got Saturday, the more worried I became. All I could think about was two things: something was going to happen to my grandma on or before Saturday and if we took the SUV, some idiot was going to cut us off and cause us to roll. On Friday night, I told my husband what I had been feeling. He immediately said we would take his car to the memorial service. When I went to bed that night, it took forever to fall asleep because I kept worrying about my grandma. Laying there, looking at the ceiling, I even got angry and told my uncle he couldn’t have her yet and to let us at least get through the weekend.

At 8:30 a.m. Saturday morning, my mom called. My grandma was on her way to the hospital in an ambulance. It seemed she was having a heart attack. I could only shake my head. I knew it. My mom told me to go ahead and go to the memorial service because my grandma had insisted that she tell us to go. My mom was going to go to the hospital and would keep me updated throughout the day.

We went ahead and went to the memorial service as planned. On the way out there, on the freeway, in the rain, a brand new BMW was in the left hand lane next to us and ahead of us about one car length. I noticed how fast he was driving and just when I was getting ready to point this out to my husband, the left rear tire on the BMW blew out causing the BMW to swerve out of his lane and into ours. My husband hit the brakes to avoid hitting the other car and we fishtailed into the lane to the right of us. Amazingly, there was no accident. The BMW managed to miss any other vehicles and made it to the shoulder and my husband managed to get the car under control and avoid hitting any other cars. Had we been in my SUV, I have no doubt that the outcome would have been much worse. My husband just shook his head and thanked God that he listened to me. So did I.

My mom called me a couple of hours later to let me know that it looked like my grandma may have had a mild heart attack and that they would be keeping her in the hospital a couple of days or so to check out her heart. I guess my uncle listened to me after all. I don’t know if it’s just plain ‘ol fashioned women’s intuition or more than that. My feelings had been right. Yes, something happened to my grandma but we got through the weekend just like I had wanted and she’s still here for a little bit longer. Plus, we avoided a potentially bad accident in my SUV! So, everyday I will continue to count my blessings, even the “gut” feeling ones.

5 Responses to “Some Call It Intuition.”

  1. Bedazzzled1 Says:

    Oh Chris! I am SO glad you listened to your gut feelings. They are almost always right. You just proved it, didn’t you?

    I have had tons of experiences when my intuition was correct. And my hubby has come to listen to me, too.

    I am very sorry your grandmother had a heart attack. I do believe what she describes seeing is very, very real. How comforting it must be for her to see those she has loved and missed knowing they await her.

    Hang in there, hon. I will be saying prayers for all of you.

    ::hug::
    Nikki

  2. sweatpantsmom Says:

    That was a chilling story.

    You might like this book: ‘The Gift Of Fear’ by Gavin de Becker. He gets into those feelings you describe, and how we are the only animals that ignore our intutions (because we are taught to) and don’t use them to our advantage.

    (I hope your grandma recovers quickly.)

  3. Tammy Says:

    Chris, I totally agree with Nikki! We grow out of our “6th sense” and we are taught how to forget.

    Thank goodness your hubby listens to you and grandma is doing ok.

    Keep us posted. You are going through so much!

    XXXOOO

  4. Suz Says:

    Wow, your post gave me both chills and brought tears to my eyes.

    I have those feelings a lot but my mom is known for them and hers are 99% right.

    So sorry your grandma had a heartattack. She will continue to be in my Prayers.

    Hugs Suz

  5. J. Says:

    Thanks for linking this and for sharing.
    Isn’t it amazing how this stuff works out? It truly bloggles my mind.
    And thankfully, it DOES work out.

Leave a Reply

