Never Again!

This past weekend we went whale watching. Or what I should say is Gordon and the boys watched for whales while I sat in the cabin turning numerous shades of green, trying not to hurl on everyone who was within radius. Yes, I got sick. I never actually threw up but had I done that, I probably would have felt much better. The weather was beautiful but the sea was not my friend. It was choppy with 4 foot swells. Up and down…up and down….Never again!
After two hours and seeing no whales, we headed back to the harbor. However, on the way back the boat pilot stopped the boat at this bouy which is very popular with the sea lions. It was about 5 p.m. and he said they were more active in the evening and loved to hang out on the bouy. They were so used to the boat that they didn’t even budge when the boat literally rested within inches of it. All they really did was bark at us. Since we had slowed down to a cruising speed, I was starting to feel a little better and at the insistence of the boys, I went out and took pictures. Right after that we came across a pod of dolpins, easily over 100. They were all around us. They were moving too fast to take their pictures but it was definitely an awesome sight.

Once we were in the harbor, the boat pilot asked the boys if they would like to take a try at piloting the boat. Of course they said yes. What boy wouldn’t want a try at it? Austin took the job very seriously and said it was much harder than he thought it would be.

Owen had a turn as well but he was much more interested in blowing the horn repeatedly, to the dismay of all of the other passengers. He didn’t care though. He just kept blowing away!
Once we were back on solid ground, all the boys could talk about was the sea lions and dolphins. They weren’t bothered in the least that we never saw a whale. However, I would have liked to see one since I took the time to go out to sea suffering the whole time. Gordon said next time we go that I should take dramamine before getting on the boat. I just looked at him like he was crazy. Sorry honey, my whale watching days are over!
7 Responses to “Never Again!”

  1. Karen Funk Blocher Says:

    There are better things to try than Dramamine. There are also places on land where whales sometimes turn up. Maybe you should try again. Great sea lion shots! – K.

  2. jeni Says:

    so, big ol’ tough twinnie has a sensitive tummy?? LOL!! sorry about your bad luck on the waters. i hate whale watching out west. the water is horrible for my taste, having grown up in miami. too cool on the dolphins though! 🙂

    so, are we going to get together this weekend or what? wanna head over to CEC sunday? its lea’s b-day! 🙂

  3. Suz Says:

    Sorry you got sick!

    Love the pics of the boys and the sea lions.

    Hugs Suz

  4. DEREK Says:

    Chris these shots are excellent, pricelesss, sorry you got seasick, I’ve done that before.

    I finally got my link correct with you in it, It kept going to some weird place

  5. Bedazzzled1 Says:

    What a neat adventure (‘cept for you getting sick…try a Scopalamine patch next time). Your pictures are great.

  6. Everyday Mommy Says:

    Just stumbled on your blog & am enjoying it.

    I went on a whale watch off of Plymouth, MA when I was 5 months pregnant. I threw up everything I’d eaten during the past week. I concur, never again.

  7. Tammy Says:

    I’m sorry you were green 😦 I loved that last shot with the sun on their sweet faces.

    Hugs

Leave a Reply

