15 Years Ago Today…

May 11th, 1991
They said it wouldn’t last!
.
so…
on that note…
here’s
.
Thirteen Things About
My
Wedding
.
1. My wedding day was the day before Mother’s Day and we left for our honeymoon on Mother’s Day.
.
2. My mother still hasn’t gotten over the fact that I would leave her on Mother’s Day.
.
3. Gordon and I paid for our own wedding. I wasn’t about to have my parents pay money when I was already an established career woman who had been living on her own for 11 years.
.
4. Since we were paying ourselves, I had to keep it to a limited budget.
.
5. My mom was the general manager of a major hotel at that time, so of course, I had my reception there at a highly discounted rate.
.
6. All the hotel rooms on the 6th floor were for wedding guests who wished to stay. Sure enough, every room on that floor was booked.
.
7. We had a suite, of course!
.
8. Believe it or not, I rented my wedding dress. Plus, I had taken the wedding dress I already had from my previous engagement (that is a whole other story) and they bought the dress from me and let me have the use of any wedding dress of my choosing for free.
.
9. My make up was done by the wife of the Fire Captain that I worked for in the Fire Department. She was a proffesional make up artist for a movie studio.
.
10. In exchange for her services for myself and all the bridesmaids, my mom gave her and her husband a HUGE suite for the whole weekend for free.
.
11. After the wedding reception was over, everyone went up to the 6th floor and it was one big party from room to room.
.
12. Three of my girlfriends got pregnant the night of my wedding.
.
13. If I had to do it all over again, I most definitely would!
.

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!
.
The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!
.
9 Responses to “15 Years Ago Today…”

  1. Matt Says:

    Nice thirteen.
    Glad your marriage went well and it sounds like everyone had a great time, even your friends 😉

    My T13 is up!

  2. Ms. M Says:

    My best friend has been married almost 15 years. Your dress is similar to hers, and the headpeices are practically identical! You look beautiful by the way!

  3. J. Says:

    Three of my gf’s got pregnant.
    LMAO!
    Wooot! Some party, chick!

  4. jeni Says:

    totally 80’s momma!! lol!! and look at my gordon!! WOW!! hubba, hubba!! LOL!!

    you all look sooooo cute!! happy anniversary momma. sorry i missed it. 😦

  5. angela Says:

    So great…sounds like a television show pilot…

  6. Laura Says:

    my wedding day 23 years ago was also the day before Mother’s day and we also left on Mother’s day for our honeymoon….after brunch with mom.
    Our anniversary was on Mother’s day this year.
    Happy anniversary kids!

  7. Tammy Says:

    You look gorgeous! Happy Wedding Day! Sounds like it was really a great time. LOL

    HUGS

  8. DEREK Says:

    You look beautiful! I know he thinks your even more beautiful today!

    Glad ya’ll had a good time!

  9. Wystful1 Says:

    Oh my goodness…..I missed your 13 last week? Guess what?——–MY anniversary is on the 11th of May too. (38 years this year)

    My T T is up

Leave a Reply

