Enough Is Enough.

I am thoroughly disgusted with Carl’s Jr. Every one of their commercials always somehow involve something sexual from a woman eating a juicy burger that drips onto her shirt right on her breast to Paris Hilton in a bikini slithering around while eating a burger. Now, Dr. Robert Rey, a well known plastic surgeon here in “plastic surgery world” in Beverly Hills who also has his own show on the E! channel, Dr. 90210, has also done a commercial out now for Carl’s Jr. Have you seen it? If you haven’t, go take a look and then come back. Go on. I’ll wait.

When I first saw this commercial, I thought it was disgusting and sexist. What kind of message does it send to the girls out there, regardless if he’s talking about a chicken sandwich?? What pissed me off even more though, was the fact that this commercial aired at 2 o’ clock in the afternoon on Cartoon Network. How do I know this? Because my 9 yr. old came and asked me what a breast augmentation was. Of course, I had to explain it to him. But that wasn’t enough. He then wanted to know why women did that. I couldn’t tell him because son, we live in a world where women think they are nothing without perfect looks and perfect breasts and God knows we’re nothing without perky boobs!!! Now, before anyone who’s had a breast augmentation gets on their soap box to take me to task, let me tell you, I’m not against it. I’m against the way woman, especially young girls, are made to think that if we are not perfect, we are nothing. I mean, c’mon! It’s in every magazine, music video, commercial and billboard out there. You never see this with men. Where’s all those commercials touting penis enlargment? Seriously. Why didn’t Carl’s Jr. do that commercial with a man? Well? Exactly. It’ll never happen. My 9. yr. old did not need to see this commercial. Hell, no one needs to see this commercial! Our kids are subjected to sexual themes and inuendos everywhere they turn. Just the other day when my husband kissed me in front of my kids, my 5 yr. boy giggled and whispered to his 9 yr. old brother, “They’re having sex!”. I was flabbergasted! So of course, I had to sit down and explain to him that we were not having sex and explain the difference in a way that a 5 yr. old could understand.

I alone can’t stop this, but I did send off a scathing email to Carl’s Jr. and I called Dr. Rey’s office as well. Of course he wasn’t available to come to the phone, but I told the receptionist how I felt about the commercial and asked her to kindly forward my thoughts to the doctor. I don’t know if she’ll forward my thoughts to him or not, but I don’t care. It made me feel better. And now, I’m off to contact Cartoon Network!


5 Responses to “Enough Is Enough.”

  1. Kelly Says:

    OK, good, I’m glad I’m not the only fed up mother out here. Mine was watching Nick the other morning and a Dove body wash commercial came on and there are lines in it like “she’s soft, she’s sexy”. I about choked on my cheerios!

  2. Jen Says:

    That was on in the afternoon, on the Cartoon Network? Words fail me.

  3. Chris Says:

    Yep. In the afternoon. Did you see Kelly’s comment above yours? Sheesh.

  4. Renee Says:

    My DD always asks why they’re showing commercials for car dealerships on the kids channels. I’m glad she hasn’t see this yet. I’m guessing they don’t even care.

    I know that with the Paris commercial Carl’s Jr was totally non-appologetic about it and I sent them a nasty note too.

    I haven’t been back to a Carl’s Jr since.

  5. Tammy Says:

    Yeah! You go girl! I can’t believe they showed that on cartoon network! Very sad commentary 😦

Leave a Reply

