It really IS all about ME!

I cannot clean the house without music and it has to be loud. I prefer to do this when no one is home but me. Cleaning with my husband and kids in my way just does not work. However, today they were here and I had to clean, so I told them all to leave me and my music alone and under no circumstances were they to bother me.
.
I always listen to music that will keep me motivated when cleaning so today I put on my Natasha Bedingfield CD and got to work. As I cleaned to my music, after a certain song played, my husband asked me to play it again because he said he wanted to listen to the words more closely this time. This is unusual as my husband usually does not like my choice of music. This must have registered on my face because he then told me he actually liked the song and that it in fact reminded him of me. When I asked him why he thought this, he said, “Because that song is so you“. This, coming from the man who shakes his head when I tell him life is just beginning no matter how much I’ve had to deal with in the past couple of years, let alone the past 5 months. Amazing. Then, to top it off he tells me, “you are what keeps our family going”. Finally, after 15 years of marriage, he gets me.
.
The song is Unwritten by Natasha Bedingfield and it says exactly what I feel:
.
Staring at the blank page before you,
Open up the dirty window
Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find
.
Reaching for something in the distance
So close you can almost taste it
Release your inhibitions
Feel the rain on your skin
No one else can feel it for you
Only you can let it in
.
No one else, no one else
Can speak the words on your lips
.
Drench yourself in words unspoken
Live your life with arms wide open
Today is where your book begins
The rest is still unwritten
.
If you’re feeling down or need a little motivation right now, this song will definitely do it for you. You can see the video and hear the song here. I hope you enjoy it. I do!
7 Responses to “It really IS all about ME!”

  1. LadyBugCrossing Says:

    Don’t you love lightbulb moments?! I clean with loud music, too! Heck, I drive with loud music…
    LBC

  2. Ms. M Says:

    I like that song. It is motivating! I’ll have to remember it when I clean the house! Good stuff and Natasha’s song made your husband finally get you. Ya gotta love it!

  3. jeni Says:

    things like this really make me miss my twin.

  4. J. Says:

    I really like that song. I’m always singing along to it.

  5. Judith HeartSong Says:

    oh yea… what a nice moment. judi

  6. DEREK Says:

    I do the exact same thing, too funny! I dance a little while I clean too!

  7. Tammy Says:

    Loved it! I’ll crank it for my housekeeper. LOL

Leave a Reply

