Finally!

Every block in my neighborhood looks like this right now. I absolutely love these Jacaranda trees. (Click on the picture to see just how beautiful they are!). The minute you step outside you can smell the sweet fragrance from these trees and it smells heavenly. They are messy, but I love the way the fallen flowers carpet the streets and yards. My kids love to roll down the car windows and have me drive along the curb over the fallen flowers so they can hear them pop. I’ve been wanting to take pictures of them for a week or so now, but with this overcast, gloomy “June Gloom”, it just looked to dark and gloomy. In in other two weeks or so all the flowers will be gone and I was worried that I wouldn’t get a chance to get pictures, but today for about a total of 25 minutes, the sun finally peaked through. Sure enough, by the time I finished taking pictures, the sun disappeared once again. That was the first time, literally, that I’ve seen any sun since last Sunday. The marine layer is so thick that we have been getting a heavy mist that lasts until about noon, just enough to make a mess of my car. And to think we have atleast another 2-3 weeks of this. Oh well. At least I have my beautiful, messy, fragrant trees to get me through it!
9 Responses to “Finally!”

  1. Sparkling Diamond Says:

    HI Chris! wow…I finally got in to your comments! I tried leaving a comment yesterday, but your word verification wasn’t working! Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    I LOVE this pic! I have not seen these trees before and since my fav color is purple and you described them so well, to me it looks like heaven! Too bad it is for such a short time.
    I have really enjoyed reading your blog…now if only my puter wasn’t so lame and I can get in to make comments w/o waiting hours! 🙂

  2. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    Oh I’m so glad you posted this photograph. I wanted to go to a street that is filled with the Jacarana, just like this…! They are such a very beautiful tree!

    Okay, my dear. Here are two letters to choose from and you decide which you want to do. C or R!
    Do let me know once you’ve posted it so I can come and visit your Letter List! Have fun!

  3. "D" Says:

    Gorgeous! You couldn’t be “uncheered” by that view! Thanks for the pic…

  4. Tammy Says:

    Oh my, I want one of those! That is an awesome view!!!

  5. sweatpantsmom Says:

    This is beautiful. I’ve lived in So. Cal all my life and have never seen a street as gorgeous as this.

  6. Chris Says:

    Here in Whittier, we have them everywhere. In fact, our local paper always has a section stating where the latest, best blooming trees are for our viewing pleasure. Luck for me, I’m living in this neighborhood!

  7. Patrick Says:

    I’d love to walk down a street that looked like that!

    Beautiful!

  8. J. Says:

    Oh my hell, they are BEAUTIFUL!
    I’ve never seen anything like that before.
    I want one! I want one!
    heheheee…
    Would they survive up here in Canada?

    Beautiful pic, absolutely beautiful.

  9. Susie Says:

    Those are gorgeous. The closest thing we have to that is when the dogwoods bloom here in Georgia. 🙂

Leave a Reply

