Thirteen Things about
Lucy
(my grandmother, in honor of her
upcoming
87th birthday)
.
.
1. My grandmother worked 45 years as an RN for the same doctor.
.
2. When nursing became too difficult for her, she then ran the front office and payroll for the doctor.
.
3. She retired at the age of 80. The doctor, at 82, is still practicing. (I know, scary)
.
4. In 1942, she and my grandfather built their home for $5,000.
.
5. At one time or another, she has let various family members move in with her and my grandpa, myself included.
.
6. My grandmother would not and did not let my grandfather die in a hospital. She insisted he be at home when the time came. It was where he belonged.
.
7. When my brother was in the end stages of his cancer, he also did not want to die in a hospital. He wanted to be at my grandmother’s house where he lived much of his childhood (as did my mom and myself when my mom and dad divorced). My grandmother would not have had it any other way.
.
8. She lived in that house 63 years until the house became too much for her to take care of and in 2004 she moved. She is now much closer to me than she has been in years and I’m glad.
.
9. She has outlived her husband, her grandson, her great-grandson and more recently, her own son who passed last February.
.
10. My grandmother has
beautiful hands and always has. She has very long, graceful fingers. Luckily, both my mother and myself inherited that trait from her.
.
11. My grandmother and I have always been extremely close. For my wedding day 15 years ago, she gave me the string of pearls that my grandfather got for her when he was overseas in 1942. I wore them proudly on my wedding day and I still have them to this day.
.
12. Also, as a wedding gift she gave me the handmade wedding ring quilt that was made by her great, great grandmother.
.
13. About a year ago, my grandmother decided to start giving things to family members rather than have them fight over them once she’s gone. I now am the proud owner of her wedding ring that was given to her by my grandfather in 1941. She has such bad arthritis that she can no longer wear it. Now I wear it for her everyday on my right hand. And like my wedding ring, it never comes off.
.
.
Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!
.
.
..The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!
.
.
Leave a Reply

