Only One More Month…


…until our vacation and it can’t get here soon enough. Summer’s almost coming to an end and I’m more than ready. The kids are cranky and whiny because they play hard, go to bed late and get up way too early. When we go on vacation, the crankiness and sibling fighting seem to disappear. We’ve always gone to Palm Springs (the picture above is from our vacation last summer) the week up to and through Labor Day. In fact, we’ve gone to the same hotel for the last 5 years and when I made our reservation for this year, I was told that because we were a favorite returning customer we would have a free room upgrade and breakfast and dinner at no charge. They wanted to know what our favorite magazines, snack foods and beverages were so they would be in our room prior to our arrival. We would also be able to check in at 10 a.m. and not have to check out until 5 p.m. How great is that? Well, my elation was not to be. I was notified two weeks ago that Marriott no longer owns the Rancho Las Palmas Resort and Spa hotel. It was sold to the same company that owns the Hotel Del Coronado and La Costa Resort and Spa. For those of you who are not familiar with those hotels, let me just tell you that they are very expensive, luxury resort hotels. My reservations would be transferred, but all the little perks that were promised to us would not occur. Also, the room rate was going from $119 a night to $259 a night. And to add insult to injury, there would also now be a $15 a day ‘resort fee’ and we would have to pay $10 a day for parking. For a five day stay, that adds up. I canceled our reservations and we are now going to go to San Diego and be tourists. The boys have never been and I haven’t been in about 15 years so it will be new for me, too. The boys want to do Legoland and Sea World. Gordon wants to tour a floating museum, the U.S.S. Midway aircraft carrier. Definitely a man and boy thing. I said I would go as long as I could go to Horton Plaza , a seven-story, outdoor shopping mall that is 6 1/2 blocks of shopping heaven. They said that was fine as long as they could stay at the hotel and spend the day at the pool. Works for me! We’ll be staying at Residence Inn in a two bedroom suite. This is a great thing because Gordon snores unlike anyone I’ve ever heard. When the boys heard that the the three of us would have our own room and Gordon would be in his own room, they cheered. I have to admit, I’m quite glad about that as well. I love my husband, but a peaceful night’s sleep is much more important. His snoring is so bad that we have not gone tent camping in years because we’ve had complaints from other campers! So, thirty more days and we’re out of here. In the meantime, I’ll just put on my headphones and crank up the music to tune out the cranky, whiny boys and day dream about sitting by a crystal clear pool while sipping my margarita!
2 Responses to “Only One More Month…”

  1. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    Well, what a bummer that this Hotel didn’t have the “smarts” to honor their former owners committments and maybe -possibly-perhaps, keep a long time customer! GREED! It will get you every time.
    San Diego is certainly a great place to visit though and I hope you have a terrific time!
    Thanks for the visit and your very interesting comments too.

  2. Tammy Says:

    Bummer on the plans but the new plans sound great! My papa was on the Midway when it went down, only to come back and sneek up on the enemy as a suprise. Margaritas and shopping…Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

