Laughter (especially loud, snorting laughter) Really Is The Best Medicine

Lately my posts have not been the happiest of posts and I thank all of you for all of your supportive comments. I appreciate them more than you can know. Really, sometimes a girl just wants to be heard, ya’ know? (Thanks especially to Naomi for her wise words of wisdom and her wonderful stories on her blog that I love reading which, for awhile, takes me away from my family situation).
.
Last night I just finished a book, Bitter Is The New Black by Jen Lancaster. It’s about a woman who had it all: a great job, the best designer handbags, shoes and clothes and apartment. She then loses her very well paying job and has to adapt to a whole new way of life. She is sarcastic and hilarious at the same time. I laughed so loudly, I woke my husband (who wasn’t too happy about that). How I needed to laugh like that. (Really, my eyes are so swollen from all of my crying that I’ve taken to telling people it’s due to an allergic reaction). Even more funny is that it was like I was reading about myself! Yes, I know all of you who have come to know me via this blog couldn’t possibly think of me as sarcastic or egotistical. (Okay. So maybe I’m still a little bit like that. Sometimes. Though I’m sure my husband would tell you otherwise. Probably my mother, too. And maybe some of my girlfriends. Maybe a coworker or two, as well). Of course, things happen in ones life to make you see things differently. Jen’s was the loss of her job and designer duds. Mine occured when I lost my brother. What Jen managed to do though, was put her story in this book. So, if you’re looking for a great, make-you-laugh-out-loud kind of book (but hopefully you don’t snort like I do which is what woke my husband), this is the book for you.
.
If you want to read a little more about the author, you can check out her website (which is just as good as the book) at www.jennsylvania.com. Really, who doesn’t want a good laugh every now and then? I know I sure do. Hey, it’s better than popping a pill, right? Again, thanks everyone for everything. And keep on laughing!
.
.
Because I am so nice, if anyone would like to read this book, I have no problem mailing it to you(it’s a paperback) and if there are others, we can just keep the book going from person to person. Just let me know!
4 Responses to “Laughter (especially loud, snorting laughter) Really Is The Best Medicine”

  1. J. Says:

    Glad you liked the book! It was great, wasn’t it?

    Glad you’re doing a bit better too…

  2. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    You are so very welcome my dear for any and all my words, wisdom, or otherwise…I thabk you for the kind sweet words here on your post today…
    I sure can use a good laugh, for sure….I will check out her Website, right now!

  3. MommaK Says:

    Ooooooo I do want to read that book! I was just thinking about it the other day when I finished my trashy beach novel.

    Thanks for stopping by today. Your story made me laugh so hard 🙂 Glad I’m not alone!!

  4. Neil Says:

    I am a firm believer that the adage laughter is the best medicine is true.

Leave a Reply

