The Runaway


Today when I got home, Owen informed me that he was running away. Apparently his brother didn’t want to play with him so he said he wasn’t going to stay here anymore. He grabbed his backpack and put in his blanket, a stuffed animal and his favorite back-scratcher (this was given to him by my uncle who passed away last February). He grabbed some shoes and his pillow and had them all ready to go.

Me: Where are you running away to?
Him: To Randall’s. (Randall is his best-friend, same age, who lives next door).
Me: Why?
Him: Because you guys (dad, brother and me) are the ugly family. They are not.
Me: Hmmm. Well, you’re from the ugly family, so you know what that means.
Him: Not anymore.
Me: Okay then. If you gotta’ go, you gotta’ go.
Him: Randall plays with me and they like me over there. And I’m taking the Game Cube, too.
Me: You’ll have to do homework there and have chores as well.
Him: No, we’re just going to play all the time and then sleep on the bunk bed.
Me: Well, if you say so. And sorry, but the gamecube stays.
Him: (sighing) Fine.

He then put on his backpack and grabbed his pillow and shoes and walked to the door.

Him: I’m going now.
Me: Okay. Have a good time.
Him: Can I take a walkie-talkie so I can talk to you in case I get lost? (again, he’s crossing our lawn to theirs).
Me: Sure.
I gave him a walkie-talkie and I took the other.
Him: I’m leaving now.
Me: Okay. Bye.

He stood at the door for a minute then walked out, closing the door behind him. Not even 10 seconds later I hear the crackle of the walkie-talkie.

Him: Momma?
Me: Yes?
Him: Aren’t you going to watch me go?
Me: I can see you from the window. You’re fine.

In the meantime, I now have my neighbor on the phone quickly filling her in. I watch Owen make his way over to the their house and go inside.
He stayed.
For about an hour.
Then he came back home, bringing everything with him.

Me: So, are you here to stay?
Him: Yeah. I have to do homework there, too. And take out the trash. So instead of running away, I’ll just visit them.
Me: Are we still the ugly family?
Him: Nope. We’re the loving family and Randall’s is the visiting family.
Me: Well I’m glad you’re back. I missed you.
Him: I missed you too, momma. And my gamecube, too.

 Posted by Picasa

11 Responses to “The Runaway”

  1. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    Lol, Lol…Soooo sweet! Oh the pain he must have felt for that short while. Glad he got over it all!

  2. No One Says:

    Absolutely priceless! Thank for sharing that!!

  3. huberama Says:

    Out of the mouths of babes… great story! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Karen Funk Blocher Says:

    Aww! That is wonderful! You handled it perfectly!

  5. J. Says:

    OMG that is way too cute.

  6. Happy Mama to Three Says:

    I can’t believe he didn’t pack a sandwich, and a juice bag in case he got to hungry on his long trip. =-)

    Cindi

  7. Tammy Says:

    He’s sooo darn precious! I really enjoyed this after reading about so much loss. Thank you!

  8. Kristen Says:

    “and my gamecube…” LOL.

  9. PARLANCHEQ Says:

    Ha! Too cute. 🙂

    P.S. Came to your blog from the 2996 participant list. Like your tribute, too.

  10. Katherine Says:

    OK, that was flippin’ hysterical!

  11. Austin and Owen Says:

    That was a funny day to remember.
    I still foregot why he was going to run away from home lol.I’m Owen’s brother austin.Oh,and come check out or blog I wrote a very good paragraph worth mabey 5 paragraphs.

Leave a Reply

