A Tribute to Dorothy Alma DeAraujo


2,996 is a tribute to the victims of 9/11.
On September 11, 2006, 2,996 volunteer bloggers
will join together for a tribute to the victims of 9/11.
.
In the tidy, tightknit Long Beach, California seaside neighborhood of Naples, Dorothy A. Dearaujo was known as ”our artist” because she captured the area’s canals, boats, shops and homes in detailed, flashy water colors. Dearaujo, a cheery, independent 82-year-old woman who had lived alone for more than 20 years, was a frequent traveler to places famous for their scenery and museums: France, Australia, Italy, Brazil and Hawaii.

Her father sold clothes wringers while her mother worked in a department store. She studied nights at the Art Institute of Chicago but her parents didn’t see a future in her paintbrushes. And so she deferred her dream. Mrs. deAraujo spent 20 years as an executive administrative assistant at California State University’s Long Beach campus. On retiring, she was allowed free courses there. “She wanted to advance beyond watercolors and learn about decoupage, oils and sculpture,” said her son, Tim deAraujo Jr. At 69, she earned a B.A. in fine art.

Mrs. deAraujo, 82, drew pen-and-ink postcards of Naples’ Italian-style canals. Soon, she had a budding art business and an atelier above her garage to show her work.She kept art supplies at her son’s home in Bedford, Mass., so she could paint when visiting there, as she was that fateful September, before getting on Flight 175 for her return.

I wish I could have known Dorothy. She was obviously so happy in her life and loved by so many in her community. I live very close to where she resided and I plan to visit that area next weekend just to look for her artwork and possibly buy one of her pen-and-ink postcards. I will keep it where I can see it so I can always remember Dorothy Alma DeAraujo.

Passenger – United Airlines Flight 175

.
Click here to see the list of
names and read the
tributes
44 Responses to “A Tribute to Dorothy Alma DeAraujo”

  1. Jem Says:

    Dorothy sounds amazing. Thankyou!

  2. Jay T. Says:

    What a great tribute, thanks.

    My tribute to Harry Ramos is here:

    http://www.buygilberthomes.com/?p=128

  3. Tara Says:

    Beautiful tribute to a wonderful lady.

    Visit my tribute to Saranya Srinuan at http://retardedrugrat.wordpress.com

  4. Wystful 1 Says:

    how touching a tribute you made.

  5. Kiki Says:

    Thank you for sharing Dorothy! I had the honor of meeting Teresa Martin, a Department of the Army civilian. My husband I were both Army soldiers that day and he still is, deployed to Afghanistan. We have lost so many friends and fellow soldiers that day and in the time since so this project was so very personal to me. But I also honor life today. My son is 14 today and I honor him.

  6. Toni Says:

    What a lovely tribute; thank you for sharing a bit of Dorothy’s life and rich talents with the world.

  7. Erin Says:

    Thank you for your wonderful tribute. She certainly was an amazing woman. May she rest in peace.

  8. Cheeky Says:

    What a wonderful lady – I am sure her art is cherished all the more now.

    I honored – Edward Raymond Vanacore

  9. Raggedy Says:

    Wonderful Tribute!
    Thank you.
    These are sad and hard to read….
    I am honored to be a part of this project.
    Mine is posted also…

    The 2996 link is down. I have a new link on my site to view the participants.

    The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort,
    but where he stands at times of challenge
    and controversy. ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

    Bless you…

  10. DEBRA Says:

    What a touching tribute to a wonderful woman. I think we all need to aspire to be like Dorothy.Thank you for sharing her with us.

    Please drop by and read about Durrell Pearsall.

  11. Canadi-anna Says:

    Lovely tribute.
    So many people with so much left to offer . . . the mind staggers.

  12. Tammy Says:

    Lovely tribute that has truly captured her spirit. I thank you for introducing me to this mass tribute. It brought the tragedy closer to home and by hearing the stories I am even more thankful for life. Please share any art you can find, I’d love to see it.

  13. Jennifer Says:

    What a lovely tribute to such an equally lovely woman & human being. Thank you for introducing her to me – I felt that she could’ve been my own grandmother!

  14. bigger_Daddy Says:

    thank you for introducing us to Dorothy.

    i am prodly honoring Shawn Edward Bowman at the-looney-bin.blogspot.com.

    Erin (masquerading as Bigger_daddy).

  15. Shannon Says:

    thank you for doing this…

  16. imbi Says:

    Oh, she sounds like such an interesting lady.
    I wish I would have had the chance to meet her and see her art.

    Maybe you can get permission to publish some of it on your site.

    I’m very happy to have read this tribute.
    Other tribues made me cry…this one uplifted me.
    She’s a special lady.

    Thank you!

  17. Windypundit Says:

    It looks like the 2996 main site is down under the load, so I’m trying to provide a backup unless someone else steps up. I grabbed the list of participants out of the Google Cache and re-hosted it using Amazon Web Services:

    http://s3.amazonaws.com/static.windypundit.com/cache/2996-List.html

    Amazon uses it for their own site, so it should easily take a billion hits or so.

    Tell Everyone!

  18. Jen Says:

    Beautiful Tribute. The original site is down so I have reposted the original list here so that people can continue to read and tribute.

    2996project.blogspot.com

  19. Justice Montgomery Says:

    A very touching tribute. My heart goes out to her family and friends.

    Blessings,
    Justice

    In Memory of Edward York Remembering Vincent

  20. kateandjona Says:

    A beautiful tribute to a beautiful woman. Thank you for sharing.

    Jonathon’s Closet remembers Robert Levine.

  21. Lone Star Purrs Says:

    What a wonderful tribute! I want to live life like her when I get to be that age.

    My tribute to Sean Tallon can be found at: http://www.lonestarpurrs.blogspot.com

    ~Becca

  22. Margaret Says:

    Beautiful. She was a talented lady.

    Read my tribute to Stephen Bunin at http://closeddooropenwindow.blogspot.com

  23. Ebyjo Says:

    How wonderful to know she pursued her dream until the end of her days! What an inspiration that lady was to not only her family, but also anyone who reads about her.

  24. Jennifer Sizemore Says:

    Thank you for allowing us to pay tribute with you to Dorothy.

  25. Teena Says:

    What a lovely tribute! Thank you for participating. These people are no longer just a name to us anymore.

    Mine’s up.

  26. InterstellarLass Says:

    She sounds like a great lady.

    I have remembered Laura Lee Morabito

  27. Kache Says:

    Lovely tribute, thank you

    Faina’s Tribute

  28. Digital Fortress Says:

    Thank you, your tribute was beautiful.

    Five years have come, and five years have gone, and still we stand together as one…

    I did not know any victims, but I learned a lot about my asigned person. His tribute is on my blog.

    9/11 is what compelled me to re-join the military and do my part.

  29. Happy Mama to Three Says:

    That every name, every face, every soul, every heartbeat should be made one. In the face of the tragedy we all lived through, it is the only prayer I have. Your tribute brings one more name, one more face, one more soul, one more heartbeat into the circle, and we keep living, not inspite of 9/11, but because of those who gave all.

    Thank you for your piece of the puzzle.

    Cindi
    I proudly honored Jay Robert Magazine and Mark Bingham on my blog.

  30. kateykakes Says:

    Thank you for such a lovely tribute. Well done…

    I honored JJ Aguiar at http://www.kateskafe.blogspot.com

  31. Carly Says:

    You did a lovely job with your tribute to a beautiful lady who had a beautiful soul.

    Lovely
    Always, Carly

    I am honoring David Angell
    http://ellipsissuddenlycarly.blogspot.com/2006/09/2996-project-i-am-honoring-life-of.html

  32. bernie Says:

    I’ve read hundreds of tributes so far and I am amazed at all the talented, heroic, courageous, extraordinary lives that were lost that day.

    Wonderful remembrance.

    I linked your tribute at 2996 tribute to victims of 9/11 – Terrence E Adderley

  33. FroneAmy Says:

    Glad to be part of the project with you. I wish I could have seen some of Dorothy’s artwork. Very nice tribute
    ~Amy

  34. Guido Says:

    A great tribute to a great lady, she was something else!

  35. writer chick Says:

    You’ve gotta love a creative, independent woman.
    WC

  36. Cathy Says:

    The Art Institute of Chicago- Dorothy no doubt studied some of the Impressionist Masters- and then years later to go on to college and get her BA!! An amazing woman.

    Well done.

    Never Forget.

  37. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    A lovely tribute to a very interesting and unique woman..

    The sadness of 9/11 will never end.

  38. Tish Says:

    You have honored Dorothy beautifully. My thoughts and prayers go out to her family and friends.

    I have honored Judson Cavalier.

  39. Dana Huff Says:

    Thank you for sharing Dorothy with us. This was a beautiful tribute.

  40. Katherine Says:

    wow, wow, wow she sounds like the coolest lady. Yet another taken way too soon. Thanks for the tribute and thanks for visiting mine for Marjorie C. Salamone.

  41. Kristy Says:

    Oh my goodness, how wonderful Dorthory must have been!! and getting her degree at 69?? I sure hope you find some of her artwork, how awesome would that be?
    Thank you for putting yet another face/life to a number!!

    I remember Simon Weiser

  42. butterflygirl Says:

    Great tribute.

  43. Anonymous Says:

    WOW how sweet to hear about this wonderful lady AWESOME

    our family will not forget the brave people of 911
    Paul DeAraujo

  44. cigarette electronique Says:

    This may be the greatest read around!!

Leave a Reply

