Truth in Art


Yesterday, my 6 yr. old had to draw what the first day of school was to him. When he got home from school, he pulled it out of his backpack to show me. He had a sad look on his face as he started to give it to me.
“What’s wrong?”, I asked, concerned.
“This is how I feel going to a new school”, he said, head bowed.
In the picture next to the car is me, and all those little circles falling to the ground are his tears. You can just make out his head there. Next to him is his brother, then his dad, and then his best friend Randall. And yes, he still cries when I leave him at school in the morning.
“Mama, I’ll do my best to not cry next week and then I’ll make a happy picture”, he said quietly.
“You don’t need to be scared when I leave. You are there with all your friends and you have a great teacher”, I said hugging him.
“Mama, I don’t cry because I’m scared. I cry because my heart breaks when you leave me”.
Oh my. Be still my heart.
Before I could think of the right words, he said,
“But that’s okay. When I don’t cry anymore, it will grow back together”.
He took his backpack and headed off to do homework and I sat there trying not to blubber like an idiot. Well I’m glad his heart will grow back together because at that moment, I felt mine crack just a little bit. Maybe when his is all fixed, mine will be too.

Posted by Picasa

8 Responses to “Truth in Art”

  1. Wendy Ann Edwina D'Cunha e Pereira Says:

    Oh! my God!!! what an absolutely sweet thing to say!!! Makes you feel very special, doesn’t it? Kids have very special ways about them. They really know how to make us feel special. Enjoy it… while it lasts. When they get bigger… they don’t really want us all that much… so i’ve been told…

  2. Wendy Ann Edwina D'Cunha e Pereira Says:

    Oh! my God!!! what an absolutely sweet thing to say!!! Makes you feel very special, doesn’t it? Kids have very special ways about them. They really know how to make us feel special. Enjoy it… while it lasts. When they get bigger… they don’t really want us all that much… so i’ve been told…

  3. Wendy Ann Edwina D'Cunha e Pereira Says:

    Oh! my God!!! what an absolutely sweet thing to say!!! Makes you feel very special, doesn’t it? Kids have very special ways about them. They really know how to make us feel special. Enjoy it… while it lasts. When they get bigger… they don’t really want us all that much… so i’ve been told…

  4. J. Says:

    Oh wow. I would’ve been a blubbering idiot.

  5. huberama Says:

    Out of the mouths of babes come such precious words!

  6. kailani Says:

    It makes me want to cry just hearing those words! My daughter is like that, too. Sometimes when she cries when I’m dropping her off at school, I end up leaving in tears as well. I hope it gets better soon!

    Here via Carnival of Family Life.

  7. Holly Says:

    There are no sweeter moments in life than those when your precious little ones let you know what you’re doing right. ;o)

    Hugs,
    Holly

    Here via Carnival of Family Life ;o)

  8. Mert Says:

    How wonderfully sweet and touching! He is a well spoken little man :O) I hope both of your hearts heal soon.

    Here from the CFL

Leave a Reply

