A Busy Weekend

This weekend is going to be long and busy. On Saturday we have a memorial service to attend in Temecula for my great-uncle who passed away a couple of weeks ago. It’s a 60 mile drive and it’s going to be HOT. If anyone is familiar with Temecula, they know how friggin’ hot it will be and I have to be dressed for a memorial all day in that heat. If anyone in SoCal is also familiar with the 91 fwy. heading eastbound, they know it is the freeway from hell. There is always traffic, no matter what time of day or night. What should only be about a 45-50 minute drive is always a minimum of 90 minutes to get there. I absolutely HATE this freeway. So, needless to say, I’m not looking forward to any part of Saturday.
Oh, and did I mention that the memorial is also a potluck for about 80-90 people and I was nominated by my wonderful mother to do the desserts for said memorial? Specifically, my Cherries in the Snow recipe that consists of whipped cream, cream cheese, angel food cake and cherry pie filling? Enough for 80-90 people?? And of course, it’s a no-bake dessert that has to be refrigerated and of course, I have to transport it in a vehicle for a 90 min-2 hour road trip. Since I have to make such a large amount, I have no room in my refrigerator to store it, so I will be making this concoction right before we leave.
Oh yeah. I’m already anticipating a migraine and foul mood by the time I get home on Saturday night. However, if said migraine does not appear, I have a bottle of wine with my name on it chilling in the fridge right now, awaiting my return on Saturday!
.
On Sunday, Father’s Day, we’re going to spend our day at the Orange County Marketplace which is a huge, outdoor, open air market. I could shop ’til I drop there! My husband loves it for the tools and car stuff. I love it for their fresh produce section which is a huge section. The prices are amazing and the produce is to die for. The tomatoes are huge and ripe, the peaches are always the size of grapefruits and every single summer fruit you can think of is available. My husband will load up on corn on the cob which we will be barbecuing that night. My kids love it, of course, for the toys and video games. My husband needs a new pair of RayBan sunglasses so I told him I would get him a pair for Father’s Day. You won’t find a better price anywhere else than the OC Marketplace.
.
Anyone a Deadliest Catch fan? My husband and I just love that show and TiVo it regularly. There’s also another show right now, After the Catch, that is a four part series doing interviews with some of the main people from the Deadliest Catch show. My husband has noticed some of the shirts the guys have been wearing on that show and keeps saying he wants some. So, for a few more Father’s Day gifts and after doing a lot of searching, I found what he was looking for. This is the t-shirt I’ve ordered for him.
.

And of course, I couldn’t get the shirt without getting the hat to go along as well, right?

And since I love the show, too, I couldn’t say no to a shirt for me!

This is the first time in a while that I haven’t looked forward to a weekend and am actually looking forward to a Monday! So, since the memorial service consists of mostly family, how rude do you think it would be to take comfortable clothes to change into after the service, once at my aunt’s house for the potluck? The thought of being in all black, all day, and in high heels sounds mighty uncomfortable. I’ll take a change of clothes and play it by ear, I guess.
Hopefully, your weekend will be not so hectic and a lot more comfortable than mine!
Leave a Reply

