I Won’t Forget

I’m sure everyone can tell you exactly where they were and what they were doing on that fateful day 6 years ago. I know I can, but that’s not what I’m going to to do today. Instead, I will repost from last year and will continue to do so every year in honor of all those that perished as well as this beautiful woman,
.
Dorothy Alma DeAraujo

.

.
2,996 is a tribute to the victims of 9/11.
On September 11, 2006, 2,996 volunteer bloggers
joined together for a tribute to the victims of 9/11.
.
In the tidy, tight knit Long Beach, California seaside neighborhood of Naples, Dorothy A. DeAraujo was known as ”our artist” because she captured the area’s canals, boats, shops and homes in detailed, flashy water colors. DeAraujo, a cheery, independent 82-year-old woman who had lived alone for more than 20 years, was a frequent traveler to places famous for their scenery and museums: France, Australia, Italy, Brazil and Hawaii. Her father sold clothes wringers while her mother worked in a department store. She studied nights at the Art Institute of Chicago but her parents didn’t see a future in her paintbrushes. And so she deferred her dream. Mrs. deAraujo spent 20 years as an executive administrative assistant at California State University’s Long Beach campus. On retiring, she was allowed free courses there. “She wanted to advance beyond watercolors and learn about decoupage, oils and sculpture,” said her son, Tim deAraujo Jr. At 69, she earned a B.A. in fine art. Mrs. deAraujo, 82, drew pen-and-ink postcards of Naples’ Italian-style canals. Soon, she had a budding art business and an atelier above her garage to show her work.She kept art supplies at her son’s home in Bedford, Mass., so she could paint when visiting there, as she was that fateful September, before getting on Flight 175 for her return.
I wish I could have known Dorothy. She was obviously so happy in her life and loved by so many in her community. I live very close to where she resided and I plan to visit that area next weekend just to look for her artwork and possibly buy one of her pen-and-ink postcards. I will keep it where I can see it so I can always remember Dorothy Alma DeAraujo. Passenger – United Airlines Flight 175
.
Click
here to see the list of
names and read the tributes.
.
Update: I did visit Long Beach that next weekend and I did purchase postcards of her work. They’re here at my computer where I see them every single day.
God Bless you Dorothy Alma DeAraujo.
Leave a Reply

