My Camera, the Healer.

Lately I’ve been in my head too much and everything in it is racing around at a million miles an hour.  I don’t like being like this because it has a trickle down effect: housework is not getting done, laundry is not getting done and I’m having trouble just trying to figure out what to do for dinner.  The only thing that takes me away from my ‘head’ right now is my camera.  Put my camera in my hand and I’m just fine, thank-you-very-much. 

Last Friday was, apparently, the official “Talk Like A Pirate Day”.  Really.  I had no idea, never heard of it.  However, my son’s school knew of it and made it a “Talk Like a Pirate Day” event.  The kids were allowed to wear pirate attire and gear if they chose to and they had a special recess where there was musical chairs and a “Pirate Dance”.  At first the kids didn’t seem all that enthused until the teacher announced that they would be dancing to the Jonas Brothers version of YoHo…A Pirates Life for Me.  As soon as those kids, or should I say girls, heard Jonas Brothers name, the crowd went wild.  Because I’m the PTA Historian, I’m supposed to photograph the different school functions throughout the school year to have for the yearbook.  Sure, I like doing this for the school but I took the job for strictly selfish reasons: me+camera+kids=heaven!  I had a headache that day and I was not motivated to go stand around on a hot blacktopped playground and photograph a bunch of screaming kids.  That is, until I picked up my camera. 

A couple of weeks ago we went to a classic car show.  To me, the cars are gorgeous but,they’re just cars.  But have you ever seen the true car enthusiast around their cars?  The way they will touch the car, letting their hand slide along it’s curves, almost like a caress?  That’s how I feel about my camera.  I love the way it sits in my hands, the weight of it, the sounds it makes when I’m shooting the picture.  It becomes an extension of me and we’re no longer two seperate entities.  I know, sounds sappy but I don’t know any other way to explain it.  That’s how it is.

Once I got to the school, I was ready.  When those kids started dancing and singing, it was energizing.  Seeing their little faces light up and watching them sway and get into the music was magical, especially the younger kids.  They take it so seriously and it’s just so sweet.  Was I healed that day?  You bet.  Will I be healed the next time I pick up my camera?  Most definitely.  Everyone has something like that, something that makes them shine and feel better.  What’s your healer?

2 Responses to “My Camera, the Healer.”

  1. david (tree house man) Says:

    some of the “classic car” nuts need to get a better life, or a better wife, I think.
    I saw one guy caressing his modern car and I almost went up and said something to him…. but I kept my trap shut ( for once)

  2. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    I understand that very well Chris…And what a God-send that you have this….It really just says to me that your creativity and self-expression is truly an important part of you feeling good and healthy and engaged, and The Camera is that avenue for your creative expression. How great that you know that and that you can turn to this and feel “healed” when doing this…..!

Leave a Reply

