Kids are Just Little People (And SOOC Saturday)

img_7382-1

This morning I had the great pleasure of doing a spur-of-the-moment photo shoot with an 18 month old little girl and her 3 yr. old brother.  Their aunt had asked me if I could do this because their mother had taken them to one of those photo places located inside a big department store just yesterday and I guess it was a horrible time for everyone involved. 

img_7314

This is where I come in.  I can work with any and all kids.  Happy, sad, screaming, crying, full-blown tantrums, give me 10 minutes and we’ll Best Friends Forever, guaranteed.  Different photographers are known for different things and that’s mine.  I just love every single kid I come in contact with, I absolutely do.  I just have this connection with them.  If you had asked me what it is with me and kids, I wouldn’t have been able to tell you exactly what it is.  Then I read this post over at MeRaKoh’s Photography Blog and I had my ‘ah ha’ moment.  How many of us have friends with kids, we acknowledge the kids but all, if not most of our interaction is with our friends?  Kids are just little people and they want us to notice and talk to them, too.  I always engage in conversation with kids.  I love to hear what they have to say and to know what they’re thinking about.  Have you ever watched their expressions when they talk or the way their eyes light up?  It’s during those moments that my camera comes out.  Not every picture I get will be perfectly focused or centered, but those can be great shots, too.  That’s how I got the first shot above.  I was told this little darlin’ does not warm up to anyone.  Ah, but I’m not just anyone.  No, I’m Chris, Super Photographer of the Littlest People!  And you know what?  This little beauty and I are now BFFs.  And maybe we’ll do lunch.  Ooh!  And maybe we’ll even do some shopping, too because seriously?, this girl had on some stylin’ shoes and I’m so shopping where she does.

Today is SOOC Saturday over at Slurping Life.  Join us!

7 Responses to “Kids are Just Little People (And SOOC Saturday)”

  1. Julie Says:

    She is adorable! Good job, you!! =) I love kids, but I don’t know how to relate to them. It’s so sad. I always feel like the biggest idiot. Sigh. You have a gift!

  2. pixiedreams8 Says:

    Great Photos! Holy Eyelashes Batman! You have a gift with the kids. I try but I also feel like I am fumbling all over myself while trying to relate. My girls are great and I love the people they are but other little ones are hard for me! 😉

  3. Colleen Says:

    these are great pictures! having a 19 month old little boy, i know how hard it is to get a good shot of him so i’m extra impressed with your pictures!!!

  4. Barbara Says:

    Admiring your talent!

  5. melody is slurping life Says:

    She.Is.Precious. Loving the lashes. Fantastic work.

    and you know, I’m one of the get along with all kids gals. Isn’t it great?

    But the shoes, where’s the shot of the shoes? 🙂

  6. J. Says:

    yeah, where’s the shoes? LOL …

  7. OldOldLady Of The Hills Says:

    BEAUTIFUL PICTURES of a BEAUTIFUL GIRL!

Leave a Reply

