Finding Faith.

IMG_2199

Faith(noun):  A confidence or trust in a person or thing; faith in another’s ability; a belief that is not based on proof.

I had been locked in an isolation hospital room with my son for what seemed like forever.  Time always moves so slowly when in a hospital and all sense of time and days of weeks are off.  It’s like being suspended in another world and I needed a break.  I didn’t want to leave the room for fear I would miss a doctor or the patient advocate that had been assigned to us or the nurse coming in to educate us about swine flu (or any severe flu, for that matter)and it’s effect on kids with severe and chronic lung disease/asthma but my husband had been looking at me long and hard and made a command decision.

“Go for a walk, take a break, anything.  Just get out of here”, he insisted. “We’ll be fine.  Take your camera and go find something to take a picture of.  You’ll feel better”. 

I started to protest but he shoved my camera in my hands and gently but firmly guided me out of the room and shut the door behind me.  I panicked a little not wanting to leave.  I’m a mom.  If someone came in while I was gone, would my husband be able to remember every last detail like I would?  I said a little prayer as I walked away: Please give me the faith to trust others with my son.  Please, just give me faith, period.

I took the elevator down and found a gift shop right around the corner. I decided to kill time in there for a bit before heading back to the room.  I wasn’t about to get any further away from the 4th floor than I had to be and I certainly wasn’t going to look for things to photograph inside of a hospital, for goodness sake!  I wandered in and found a magazine to take back with me and grabbed a candy bar for a much needed energy fix.  I wandered around looking at the one million stuffed animals, toys and coloring books and started to turn around to leave but something in the corner of the store caught my eye.  I made my way back and what I saw stopped me in my tracks.  I had found my faith, right there in that gift shop, and in a big way. 

Sitting on a shelf was a necklace holder which held gorgeous necklaces by none other than Kelly Rae Roberts.  We have a mutual friend, Tracey Clark, which is how I learned about Kelly about a year ago.   She is a blogger and artist and I’ve loved her work since I first learned about her. I bought her book, Taking Flight, when it came out a year ago and I read her blog everyday.  Obviously, I am a definite fan of Kelly Rae Roberts.

I moved in for a closer look and when my eyes landed on the first necklace I saw, I couldn’t help but smile.  My little prayer had been heard and sitting right there in front of me was the answer to my prayer: Faith.  It couldn’t get more obvious than that, right?  I remembered my camera and quickly took my shots.  I walked out of that gift shop with my faith in tact, both figuratively and literally.  I purchased the necklace (how could I not?!) and headed back up to the 4th floor knowing that everything was going to be  okay…because now, I had faith.

(Thanks to you, Kelly, for your beautiful art and words of inspiration.  It was meant to be. You rock, girlfriend!)

5 Responses to “Finding Faith.”

  1. kelly rae Says:

    this was so moving to me. and reminded me how we all are indeed connected and how sometimes in the very moment we need a lift, the universe steps in, and provides.

    i am sending up wishes of healing for your son. i hope he fully recovers very soon.

    in faith,
    kelly rae

  2. melody is slurping life Says:

    Keeping you close in heart and saying a prayer of healing for your son. We’ll keep the faith together, ok? *big hug*

  3. Jen Tucker Says:

    Beautiful post, Chris,

  4. jeroldssis Says:

    Melody, it is SO good to hear from you. When you have time, let’s talk, hmmm? I’ve missed you but understand why you’ve been absent. And yes, we’ll most DEFINITELY keep the faith together!

  5. Robin Says:

    I feel as if you have captured my heart, for everything you post is so heartfelt and sincere that they touch me deep inside. I am so happy that I found FaceBook and that I found my friends once again. May God continue to keep your son safe and will you always share the faith.

Leave a Reply

