Staying Close.

Tanaka Farms

Since Owen’s medical emergency a couple of weeks ago, he’s been moody and short-tempered.  It’s to be expected.  If he doesn’t have anything to do, he wants me to entertain him.  He just wants to be with me, period, and that’s okay. 

Yesterday while I was in the middle of laundry, he asked me to help him think of something to do.   I suggested reading, watching a movie or riding his skateboard to which he would always ask the same thing: will you do it with me, too? 

I wasn’t about to ride a skateboard and he’s too old to have me read to him and we couldn’t find a movie to agree on.  Then, when I went to get something out of the hall closet, I saw the PlayDoh.  He hasn’t played with that in a couple of years.  I suggested it and he jumped on the idea. 

I sat outside at the patio table with him while he mixed colors and created different things and he began to relax.  He was quiet for awhile as played with his new found items.  I sat across from him and played with my camera, taking pictures of whatever caught my fancy.

“When I have something to do, I don’t think about what happened”, he said casually, mashing PlayDoh between his hands. 

He created while I took pictures.  His therapy is creating.  Mine is photography.  We’ve got a good thing going, him and I.  If that’s what it takes, then that’s what we’ll do.  Besides, it’s not very often he wants to hangout  with me anymore, so I’ll take what I can get and that’s a good thing…for both of us.

Leave a Reply

