It Has Begun

Thanksgiving is over and, according to my son, Christmas time has officially started.  At his insistence, I brought out the box of decorations.  Honestly, I wasn’t in the mood.  I was tired, full and just wanted to curl up on the couch and watch a movie, but just to make him go away  to make him happy, I did what he asked.  I watched him open that box excitedly and pull out each and every ornament like it was the first time he had ever seen them. 

The T.V. never went on but instead I listened to my son tell me stories of what he remembered from past Christmases and what he liked about that ornament or this ornament.  After that, he curled up next to me on the couch and told me everything that was on his Christmas list which, of course, changed numerous times. 

Christmas is especially difficult for me.  My family has dwindled drastically.  I no longer have a brother, a dad, a grandpa, uncles or cousins, all taken away by disease.  I have my grandma and my mother, thank God, but they are also ill and I fear this will be my last Christmas with them. 

And so it has begun.  I will rejoice in the magic of the holiday. I will let my son’s magic of the holiday pour over me and take me through to the new year.  I will be thankful for another year with my mother and grandmother.  I will be thankful for the friends who share their strength and their hearts with me this Christmas season.  Life is good, and that’s all that matters. 

3 Responses to “It Has Begun”

  1. emily Says:

    Lovely, the stolen moments, those times we find ourselves accidently present. I have a feeling the time spent decorating with your son will be a moment you revisit several times in coming years.

    I’m so glad you will have this holiday with your mother and grandmother. Blessings all around…

    Thank you for your sweet words over at my place.

  2. Jakki Says:

    They have no clue the power they have over us, do they? Life IS so very good…

  3. corrin Says:

    I am so glad that you are that open to having your heart softened by your son. Good Job!

Leave a Reply

