Best Shot Monday – Tiny Moments

 

My teenage son no longer likes having his picture taken and really didn’t want to do the typical Christmas card photo this year.  I knew I would have no problem getting my 9 yr. old in the picture as he is the ham in the family, but I couldn’t really put a picture of just him (though that would have been just fine with  him!).  I came up with the ornament idea easily enough and figured I would just show Owen’s hands holding one and be done with it. 

The morning of Thanksgiving, still no picture taken, it came to me.  We were going to be spending the day with my 90 yr. old grandma.  How awesome it would be to use both her and my son’s hands in the picture!  Taking the picture was an emotional moment and I had a big lump in my throat.  This may be the one of the last tiny moments I’ll have like this with my grandma.  The picture is priceless.  It’s not just the picture on my card but I also printed and framed the photo so I can see it everyday.  It’s little moments like these that I will treasure and remember forever. 

What tiny moments make up your life?  Do share…

Stop by Tracey’s for more of Best Shot Monday

(Thanks to Tracey for inviting me on board as a regular contributor for Shutter Sisters.  It feels like I’ve come home.)

8 Responses to “Best Shot Monday – Tiny Moments”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Oh what a lovely story, I’m so happy that you have a sweet photo to remind you of the moment and of your grandma~

  2. Clorissa Says:

    Amazing! It is a beautiful photo and a wonder backstory. I have a little lump in my throat. My favorite pic seen so far today.

  3. Clorissa Says:

    I meant a “wonderful” backstory. Sorry.

  4. J. Says:

    I can’t even express how much I love this.
    And the hands are so your trademark, you know that?
    Seriously – I could totally pick one of your shots out of a lineup.

  5. amanda @ kind over matter Says:

    this photo & post is absolutely gorgeous. it hit really close to home. i think i will email you a poem that i recently wrote about my late nan & her vintage christmas ornaments.

    oh. this is soooo, so lovely. thank you for sharing.

  6. Cara Says:

    Amazing! That is such a beautiful shot and what a way to remember your grandmother. I have a 92 year old Grandfather and like you every time we are with him I think this could be the last.
    Thanks for sharing, this picture put a warm feeling in my heart!

  7. Jessica Says:

    What a fantastic idea! I can only imagine how emotional a moment that was taking that picture. The photo is beautiful and certainly a family treasure that will be enjoyed for years to come.

  8. Kathy Orozco Perez Says:

    Wow….this picture is worth 1,000 words. None that I can say right now because I’m all chocked up! What a beautiful moment in time! You captured the reality of family, love, and Christmas! I’m looking forward to seeing more of your pictures! This lifted my spirit! Happy New Year Chris!

Leave a Reply

