What You Do Matters.

 My grandma will not be in this world much longer.  A few days, maybe even hours, but for now she is still here.  I’ve spent hours next to her bedside, I’ve held her hand and I’ve whispered into her ear, it’s okay to go now.  I leave the hospital, I pick up kids from school, help with homework and make dinner and squeeze in at least one load of laundry.  When I finally go to bed well after midnight, I’m exhausted.  As I lay there in the dark of night I wonder, am I doing enough? 

I had seen this video by the amazing and talented Katherine Center before and I came across it again today.  As I watched it again it seemed to me that the universe, in all it’s infinite wisdom, had meant for me to see it.  These words spoken by Katherine in the video reached out and grabbed me:

Sometimes you won’t have anyone to talk to, sometimes you’ll wonder if you’ve forgotten who you are, but you must always remember this: what you’re doing matters.

So to all of you mother’s out there, I am telling you that all that you do, be it cooking and cleaning, wiping away tears, carpooling the kids, being a loving wife or just holding the hand of your dying grandmother, on this Mother’s Day (and everyday) what you do matters.  And maybe if you should see me dropping off the kids at school or standing in line at the market looking distracted and exhausted you can give me a smile and tell me that what I do matters, too.  Because honestly?  I don’t think I can hear it enough.  Have a wonderful Mother’s Day, ladies…you deserve it.

3 Responses to “What You Do Matters.”

  1. Aimee Greeblemonkey Says:

    oh, hugs, lady.

  2. Suz Broughton Says:

    Just catching up on blogs. This was just beautiful.

  3. david Says:

    B I N G O
    that IS the message so many need to hear
    ( like me!)
    i recommend this to any care giver

Leave a Reply

