Things That Make Me Happy.

 

1).   The Beach.  I don’t know what it is about the salty sea air or the gentle waves lapping at my toes that always seems to clear the cobwebs of my mind, but it does.  Thank you, you glorious sea you, for always healing what needs to be healed.

2.)  Jack’s Beach Concessions at Huntington Beach.  If you’ve ever spent anytime at this beach and you’ve never had the strips and cheese, well then, that’s just wrong.  Huntington Beach and strips and cheese go together like PB&J.  Like Sonny & Cher.  Like Milk and cookies.  You get the idea.

3)  Summer vacations.  To anywhere. 

4)  Summer, period. 

5)  My son, he’s something else, and I mean that in a good way.  Because of this.  He’s a keeper, that one.

6)  The word Abundance.  I just truly love this word.  Once a month I try to find a new word to love and this one is it.  Is it Karma then that the gorgeously pregnant, wonderfully talented Kelly Rae Roberts just did a post on that very subject?  That’s the universe at work, my friends. 

7)  I really love the idea of kindness, of being kind to others and to yourself and if you follow me on Facebook, I asked for people to be kind in honor of my birthday.  How fitting then, that I came across this beautiful little video.  Watch it.  It will make your day.  I promise.

8)  I came across that video over at Kind Over Matter.  I’ve mentioned them before and I’m mentioning them again because I literally will not start my day without visiting their blog first thing with my morning coffee.  And maybe after lunch.  And again before bed.  Seriously.  I.am.addicted.

9)  You know how much I love photography, right?  And if you know me and how my mind works, then you know I’ve gotta’ have these darling little photo paddles.  Really.  It’s my birthday month.  I’m buying ’em.  Happy Birthday to me!

10)  Speaking of abundance, I cannot leave here without mentioning the beautiful, soulful, special woman Jen Lemen.   She is one of my Shutter Sisters and a photographer with a huge heart.  I have been blessed to be in the company of this woman on more than one occasion.  The warmth and love that emanates from her is palpable.  See for yourself  why photography is so important to me.  And when your finished?  Send some love Jen’s way as she travels through Nepal for Picture Hope. 

 And remember: be kind today…because it’s my birthday month.  😉 

5 Responses to “Things That Make Me Happy.”

  1. Krista Says:

    I love your list. It is a wonderful list. Make me think of the things that make me happy. 🙂

  2. Flora Says:

    Chris….I feel exactly the same way about the beach…I could never live anywhere that I couldn’t get there in less than 30 mins. Wouldn’t the ultimate be to have a house right on the beach where you could fall asleep every night to the sound of the waves….maybe someday. Anyway, thanks for your list…makes me smile…and I love the paddles!! Such a great idea! Have a wonderful birthday month!

  3. Jen Says:

    Those photo paddles are too darn cute. Love it. I’d actually love to have a picture of Caitlin with the mustache. Hilarious.

    When I was a kid, Jacks meant chimichangas. I don’t know why but that was always my favorite greasy beach treat.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    YOU make me happy 🙂
    Those paddles look like fun, right? I saw them the other day and contemplated them. LOL!

  5. Cat Keene Says:

    Chrissie…it’s me Cat. The ocean/beach is also a very special place to me. Wonderful memories of when I was a kid (still am…) my Mom used to take my sister and I to Laguna Beach. Even though we were pretty poor she would save up her money so that we would spend at least one day/night there. Listening to the waves rolling on the shore late at night. It seems every time we would spend time there, there was always a full moon. These memories connect me to my Mom and I will always cherish every moment I spent with her. Thank the good Lord my Mom is still alive on this earth, she is 77 years old now and because of her I am thankful for one of God’s creations….the ocean.

Leave a Reply

