A Simple Gesture

For the first time in over a month we actually had temperatures above 90 degrees so my 10 year old and I headed to the market to get something cold to drink.  Everyday at our local store there is someone at the door asking for donations for an outreach program for the homeless.  When I have extra change my 10 year old will ask for it as we leave the store to give to the person collecting donations and today was no exception.  As my son placed the money in the container, the older man collecting the money thanked him for being such a fine young man and waved to him as we drove off.

When I pulled in the driveway at home, my son commented on how hot it was.  “Mama, can we please go back and give that man a bottle of water? It’s too hot to be sitting out there without water”, he asked.  So, I started the car and back we went.  We pulled up in front of the store and along side the man.  My son rolled down the window and held out a big bottle of water.

“Sir, would you like a bottle of water?”, he asked.  The older gentleman stood and walked over to my son and took the bottle from him.  He was so touched by my son’s generosity.  The grin on his face was so big that I had to grab my phone and take a picture.  He introduced himself as William and shook my son’s hand. 

“Son, most people don’t even acknowledge me sitting here all day.  You have no idea how much I appreciate this water.  It was very nice meeting you”, he said. “Thank you very much!”.

His appreciation was so sincere.  The grin on my 10 year old’s face was priceless and also, according to my 10 year old, a really great day.  I couldn’t agree more.  Remember, be kind to someone today.  You never know just how important it may be. 

 

8 Responses to “A Simple Gesture”

  1. Cathy Keene Says:

    Can I say this…..I just love you and your kids’ Chris!!!! You truly are blessed my friend!

    • Anwar Says:

      I’ve been browsing olnnie greater than 3 hours as of late, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before. Perfection of moral virtue does not wholly take away the passions, but regulates them. by Saint Thomas Aquinas.

  2. nancyBe Says:

    I try to make a point of thanking the clerks at checkout at various stores and of calling and speaking to store managers to commend specific employees for their help and insight. It does make a difference to take positive, loving actions and step out of complaints, fear and the negative… IT is wonderful that your 10 yr old already “gets it”.. he seems to have a great example… thanks for sharing,

  3. Laurie Says:

    Hi – i found your blog through a FB post by Linda Steider – thank you for this uplifting story and reminder. We all can use a bit of kindness and a smile everyday. Sometimes in our adulthood we get so jaded. It’s wonderful when a child – especially our own child – reminds us to be kind and charitable. Tell your son, he put a smile on my face as well this morning.

  4. The Strangers’ Kindness Says:

    […] A Simple Gesture « […]

  5. guerrilla goodness: got you in my back pocket « Kindnessgirl Says:

    […] to be a friend mission… so I asked Chris of Shutter Sisters ,  Everyday Heartbeats and general Kindness Maven fame if she would be my partner to tear up some East coast/West coast kindness and to my delight […]

  6. Chloebear Says:

    Wonderful! What a thoughtful person your son is.

  7. Jessica Says:

    You are an amazing and inspiring woman! I am SO happy I found your blog. We all need more positivity in this world, and we need parents like you to teach their kids how to treat others.

    Just wanted to say YOU ROCK!

    Your newest reader,
    Jessica 🙂

Leave a Reply

