A Child’s Wisdom

 Yesterday we had an assembly at my son’s school to talk about the upcoming year and to let the kids know about the Kindness Tree that I had started there (which even made it to our local paper!).  We told them that they could add to the tree at anytime and they could also take a tag they would like to give to someone else as long as they replaced it with a new tag.  After the assembly was finished the kids headed out to recess.  To my surprise, as I was leaving I found the tree surrounded by the kids, so much so that some were complaining that they couldn’t get to it because there were too many other kids around it. 

When I went out to the tree to check it out for myself, the kids couldn’t wait to show me what they were doing.  One after another they clambored around me to show me the tags they had made.  As I read them all, I was overcome with emotion.  Their words moved me, especially knowing these were coming from children as young as 6.  It’s at times like these that I do not hold to the belief that children are meant to be seen and not heard.  Everyone has a voice, no matter the age.  These kids spoke loud and clear through their written words and their wisdom was breath-taking.  Never worry, sweet children, I will always listen.  Truly, I am blessed.

5 Responses to “A Child’s Wisdom”

  1. Cara Says:

    This is a wonderful post, those tags are awesome. I am with you sometimes we can learn a lot from children.

  2. koreilly Says:

    I love the idea of a kindness tree. What a special school that must be! I’m inspired (being a teacher). Our school word is ‘imagine’ and your idea has my community-minded juices flowing! (saw you at Shutter Sisters)

  3. Becky Sue Says:

    Chris, it must be a wonderful public school. I’m going to mull it over and consider suggesting it at our public elementary that houses only 2nd and 3rd graders. With all the anti-bully programs around right now this would fit right in!

  4. Melody Says:

    Oh Chris! I have chills and smiles like crazy.

    YAY! you for presenting the school with an amazing project. YAY YAY YAY!!! Kids for the beautiful gifts you are giving the world.

    This world is gonna be just fine, thanks to our kids.

  5. Joyelle Says:

    That is such a beautiful idea! I love it!

Leave a Reply

