On Dreaming, Picturing and Being Kind

I don’t like going much longer than a week between blog posts but at times it just can’t be helped.  I have a lot on my plate right now and that’s okay because I’m loving every minute of it!  As the saying goes, it’s all good.  Here’s a sampling of what’s keeping me on my toes:

1) The Mondo Beyond Dream Lab with Jen Lemen and Andrea Scher (who coincidentally are fellow Shutter Sisters extrordinaire!).  I’ve been wanting to do this for the longest time and now I finally am.  It’s definitely making me think and I’m having to challenge myself in ways I really never had to before.  Aimee over at Greeblemonkey sums it up perfectly in her post about the Dream Lab. One thing’s for sure,  I’m not going to be able to hide behind my camera in this at.all.  In fact, I’m thinking this will elicit atleast one of those snot-nosed, ‘ugly’ cries but if that’s what it takes, then so be it.  If it helps me turn my dreams into a reality then it will all be worth it in the end!

2) I’m involved in Picture Fall and I’m loving it.  This one is all about the camera so I’m definitely in my element with this one!  If you haven’t taken any of these photo-centric classes over at Big Picture Scrapbooking (and don’t worry if you’re not a scrapbooker. I’m not.  This is strictly a class about having fun with and enjoying your camera) then you really need to.  Picture the Holidays starts December 1st and you can register for it now.  I’ll be there!

3)  My oldest son started high school.  Never did I think I’d be as involved with a high school like I am with my youngest son’s elementary school.  In fact, parent participation is pretty much obligatory and I’m loving it.  And even better, I’m using my camera there as much as I do everywhere else!  So really, it’s a win-win situation all around. 

4)  As you know, kindness has been my theme lately from random acts of kindness to community acts of kindness.  This, by far, is my most favorite thing right now.  What’s even more awesome is that I’m not the only one on board with this.  My inspiration began a couple of years back when I came across Patience Salgado (who I can say has become a dear, sweet friend of mine) and her blog, Kindness Girl.  In fact, I’m pretty sure there’s going to be a national “Guerrilla Goodness” collaboration between us in the months to come that will be open to everyone!  Our creative juices are flowing on this right now and once I get more details, you’ll be the first to know, I promise. 

Feeling like doing some kindness yourself and needing some inspiration?  There are some wonderful people out there doing their part for kindness in this world, too.  Take a look at Secret Agent L, Love Your Neighbor, The Kindness of Strangers , and Operation NICE to name a few.  And last but not least, head over to Kind Over Matter where you can download tons of free printable kindness cards of all kinds to get you started.  If you decide to jump on the Kindness Train, share with me.  I’d love to know about it!   Whatever you do, have fun and remember, always be kind. 

Go make a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

