Best Shot Monday (or How to Invent a New Mini-Sandwich)

Being my son’s school PTA historian/photographer gives me a lot of great photo ops.  Not only do I get to photograph the main school events throughout the year, I also get to hang around the school with my camera and shoot to my heart’s desire because the pics are also for the yearbook.  This camera- junkie loving photograher is so getting her fix thrills being able to do this!

On Friday I had to be at school to take a group shot of the kids who received the honor of “Student of the Month” and the pizza party that went along with it.  When that was done, I headed outside to the lunch tables and found my son having lunch with his friends.  Because of his severe milk allergy, I’m limited to what I can pack in his lunch. One of his favorite things to eat is something his grandma got him hooked on: jelly and saltine crackers.  Whenever we visit my mom my son immediately asks for a snack and she always gets out the saltine crackers and spread them with jelly for him and he eats ’em up.  Now, there’s mini-saltine crackers which are perfect for lunches so I packed a mini disposable container with his favorite jelly and a baggie full of mini crackers along with a juice pouch and some mini oreos.  Not the healthiest I know, but atleast it was something he could eat and I don’t pack it everyday.

On this day, he decided he was going to experiment with his food.  As I sat there he took a mini oreo, dipped it in the jelly then sandwiched it between the two crackers, hence the shots above.  I, of course, thought it looked absolutely terrible but he popped it in his mouth, tried it and declared it a winner.  And of course, wanting everyone else to like it too, he promptly made and shared them with his lunch buddies.  Hey, whatever works, right?  Have a great Monday everyone!

2 Responses to “Best Shot Monday (or How to Invent a New Mini-Sandwich)”

  1. NTE Says:

    Well, I might not like his choice of sandwich, but at least he’s being creative (and sharing!), so it’s definitely a winner. Lucky you, getting to wander the school taking shots… jealous!

  2. Anna Says:

    Oooh, would love THAT gig, taking photos at school! Great shots, so, does eye contact get easier as they get older?

Leave a comment