Best Shot Monday

 Finally the weather here in Southern California was semi autumn-like, meaning it was only in the high 70’s and not in the high 90’s like it has been for the past month.  Being the summer loving person that I am, it’s difficult to transition into fall, especially when we don’t really have a fall season to begin with.  Since it was a cooler than normal day, we decided to make the hour long drive to the base of the mountains to Oak Glen to do some apple picking.  It was beautiful, the weather was perfect and I now have lots of fresh-off-the-tree winesap apples.  Ah yes…a perfect way to start my autumn.  

  WE PICKED 7.5 MILLION WAY TOO MANY APPLES AND THERE’S GOT TO BE MORE TO DO WITH APPLES THAN PIES, CRISPS AND APPLE BUTTER!!

Now where was I?  Oh yes, dazzling you with my perfect autumn day which gave me perfect apples.  Lots and lots of apples.  Got any new or different apple recipes?  Feel free to share.  Seriously.  I’ve got apples coming out of my behind ears and need to figure out what to do with all of them before they start to ferment and I decided to eat them like that and get a little bit drunk before the kids get home from school.  Then again, maybe that’s not such a bad idea…..

See more of Best Shot Monday here.

4 Responses to “Best Shot Monday”

  1. emily Says:

    Mmm, I wish I had too many apples! I think you can do thinly sliced apples and sweet potatoes in tin foil packets on the grill. You could make and can applesauce, or search for some apple cake or apple bread recipes. Good luck!

  2. MelodyA. Says:

    My girls would love to pick apples. The apple farm near us harvests apples in the Summer so we missed it. I wish I had an apple recipe to share. Hmm. OH, candy apples!

  3. david (tree house man) Says:

    i love Oak glen and miss picking apples off my own trees,
    apple sauce, apple butter, YUM

  4. J. Says:

    Nice! At least I can comment here! 😀

Leave a comment