A Beautiful Mess(and Best Shot Monday)

3174103721_9b67dc09e8_b

I’m surprised, amazed actually, by how much color I’ve seen on the trees here in SoCal lately, including my own maple tree.  Only in the past 2 weeks or so have the leaves really started turning colors and falling to their final resting place on the ground below.  The colors are so gorgeous and I wanted to be able to preserve them forever and the only way to do that was to photograph them.  These fallen beauties were also a motivator for me to get a shot for a project I’ve commited myself to, A Year Of Mornings over at Flickr, so it was a win/win situation for me. First, I  took one shot, then a couple of more and then for this shot, I just sat the camera on the ground right in the middle of the beautiful mess, depressed the shutter release button and hoped for the best.  Wouldn’t you know it, out of the 10 or so pictures I took, this one ended up being my favorite. 

Speaking of projects, I’m going to do everything in my power to take one picture every morning and post it on Flickr.  So far, so good. I will persevere. What about you? Any new projects?  Do share, and be sure to stop by Tracey’s to check out more of Best Shot Monday.  If you need inspiration or tips on how to start your own 365 photo project, stop by Shutter Sisters  and check out Stephanie Roberts post.  Have a great Monday everyone!

9 Responses to “A Beautiful Mess(and Best Shot Monday)”

  1. Amy Jo Says:

    Just like Tracey, you and your lovely socal weather are making me green with envy! Nice perspective!

  2. Tanya Says:

    GORGEOUS! great point of view 🙂

  3. Christina Says:

    Oh, it is a lovely capture! It’s often those unexpected ones that really touch is, isn’t it?

  4. Dawn Says:

    It’s “Fall” here too! We sure have wacky weather….cold and rainy, leaves changing then dry santa ana. Keeping my fingers crossed that “Fall” comes back 🙂

    I have been inspired by the changing leaves as well…wishing you luck on your project, I love taking shots in the morning~

    🙂

  5. Joanna Says:

    I love your header everytime I see it. :o) The leaves are beautiful. So close and intimate.

  6. golightly Says:

    Awesome! I hear you in the leaves, we have some trees that just started to drop and then today the weather is in the 80s! Poor trees probably don’t know what to do. I took some pictures on the ground of leaves earlier in the Fall from a Shutter Sisters challenge but never posted them (story of my life) – you’re came out really nice.

    • Addanki Says:

      samuel c samuel Posted on I am a nigarien that has just completed my secondary school level and would like to study Computer Engineering/Electronics Engineering in Korea through scholarship.this is because korea is the largest producing electronics and my parents are poor and can not afford the morney to sponsor my academic carrer so,how can i accomplish my dream? kindly reply.

  7. Julie Says:

    Beautiful! Fall is one of my favorite times of year because of the leaves and I love how you’ve captured them here.

  8. Lee-Ann Says:

    your header is soo beautiful, I love the dynamics in the colours and especially the freckles!

Leave a comment